Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

Redistribution process

On June 23, 2022, Bill C-14 received Royal Assent. Updates relating to the Bill will be available soon.

The Constitution of Canada requires that federal electoral districts be reviewed after each decennial (10-year) census to reflect changes and movements in Canada's population. The current federal redistribution process began in October 2021. A representation order describing and naming Canada's future electoral districts is expected to be completed in September 2023. Changes to electoral districts will be applied in the first general election called at least seven months after the representation order is proclaimed; we believe that these changes will not come into effect until April 1, 2024, at the earliest.

The process will be led primarily by independent commissions working separately in each province to establish electoral boundaries. Note that commissions were not required for Nunavut, the Northwest Territories or Yukon, since each territory is a single electoral district.

News Releases