Federal electoral districts redistribution 2022

The role of the electoral boundaries commissions in the federal redistribution process

Ten independent electoral boundaries commissions—one in each province—are established to revise the electoral district boundaries in their province.

Each commission is composed of a chair and two members. The chair is a judge who is appointed by the Chief Justice of the commission's province. The two members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons.

The commissions each work separately to:

  • Propose a new electoral map for their province by considering such criteria as average population numbers, communities of identity and interest, historical patterns of an electoral district, and geographic size of electoral districts
  • Consult with Canadians through public hearings and review written submissions
  • Submit a report on their considerations and propose electoral map to the House of Commons
  • Consider objections from members of the House of Commons
  • Prepare a final report outlining the electoral boundaries for their province.

It is important to note that commissions do consider the input received from Canadians and members of the House of Commons when determining the boundaries. However, as independent bodies, they make all final decisions as to where these boundaries will lie.